Museum Development UK and the Association of Independent Museums have teamed up to produce this introductory guide to equity and inclusion for museums. The guide includes a range of resources, covering the main concepts, examples of inclusive language, and best practice examples gathered from museums around the UK.

The guide also features a link to a reflection framework that you can use to record notes and responses to the materials shared.

This resource explores the nine protected characteristics of the Equality Act 2010:

  • Age.
  • Disability.
  • Gender reassignment.
  • Marriage and civil partnership.
  • Pregnancy and maternity.
  • Race.
  • Religion or belief.
  • Sex.
  • Sexual orientation.

It also considers ways we can look beyond those characteristics to other reasons people may be marginalised or discriminated against, as well as the impact of intersectionality (when you have more than one protected characteristic – for example, a disabled transgender woman).